Make your own free website on

Lawrence University Honors Alumni

Here's the original location of a Lawrence University Press Release  dated June, 1998.

Contact:  Rick Peterson, Manager of News Services, 832-6590
For Immediate Release June 17, 1998

Lawrence University Honors Nine Alumni During Reunion Weekend Celebration

APPLETON, WIS. -- Actor Campbell Scott will be among nine Lawrence University graduates honored by their alma mater during the college's annual Reunion Weekend celebration June 19-21.  More than 800 alumni and guests from 33 states and four foreign countries, including one from Nairobi, Kenya, are expected to return to Appleton for this weekend festivities.

Lawrence will recognize four alumni with distinguished achievement awards and five alumni with service awards during the annual reunion convocation Saturday, June 20 at 11:10 a.m. in the Lawrence Memorial Chapel. The traditional classes' "parade of colors" across College Avenue prior to the reunion  convocation will be led by Appleton's Murna Weller, class of 1927, and Leonard Zingler, Buffalo, N.Y., class of 1928, as representatives of the two oldest classes in attendance.

Scott, who graduated from Lawrence in 1983, has appeared in 15 films, among them "Singles," "Dying Young," "Dead Again" and the recently released "The Spanish Prisoner."  He received the Critics Prize at the 1996 Deauville Film Festival for his work as co-director of "Big Night," in which he also acted.

In addition to films, Scott has appeared on Broadway in "Long Day's Journey into Night," and "Hay Fever" as well as in off-Broadway productions of "A Man for All Seasons," "Measure for Measure" and "Copperhead."  He played the title role in separate productions of "Hamlet" in San Diego and  Boston and has been featured in the television movies, "The Kennedys of Massachusetts," "The Perfect Tribute" and "The Love Letter."

Scott will receive the Nathan Pusey Distinguished Achievement Award, which is presented to an individual who has graduated within the last 15 years.  Allen Bonde, Roger Nicoll and Margaret Peil will each receive the Lucia R. Briggs Distinguished Achievement Award, which is presented to alumni who have graduated more than 15 years ago.

Return to

News & Interviews